Access Living’s building is closed. Staff is working from home until further notice. Learn more here.

Today! People's Thanksgiving Virtual Gathering

 

November 24, 2020 | by Amber Smock

Today! People’s Thanksgiving Virtual Gathering

We’d like to remind you about our online Thanksgiving event today! Don’t miss out. Please share with folks with disabilities who are in need of social connection this week.

Join Access Living community members for our People’s Virtual Thanksgiving Gathering open mic on Tuesday, November 24, from 5-6:30 pm Central Time. The event will be facilitated by a variety of folks from the Access Living community. As we approach the winter holidays Covid-style, we want to support disabled people in finding connections and thankfulness.

We will spend the time with a special short presentation from Access Living’s Arts & Culture Team, and hold an open mic where people can share their thoughts on questions such as:

  • 1) What are you thankful for this year?
  • 2) What are you doing to feel more connected with others this Thanksgiving?
  • 3) What are some Thanksgiving traditions you enjoy?
  • 4) What resources or supports do you need during the Covid pandemic right now?

All are welcome, no matter where you live! If you are feeling the need for some disability community, this is a good opportunity. If you are joining from another US time zone, the continental time zone start/end times are:

  • 6-7:30 pm Eastern
  • 5-6:30 pm Central
  • 4-5:30 pm Mountain
  • 3-4:30 pm Pacific

The event will have ASL, captioning, and Spanish translation. Please RSVP at this link. For reasonable accommodation requests, please contact Jerome at jpalliser@accessliving.org. This event is free and open to all.

Please share with interested disability community members. Thank you!